February 2, 2012

Dear Babies,

“What are you guys doing?” your father asked this morning over the phone, 7:34 a.m, as I took a big swig of my coffee sweetened with vanilla almond milk.

{Slurp.} “Mmph, sorry, I’m drinking coffee, they’re sitting here eating breakfast. I’ll probably put them down for a little around nine. Go out around 10:30…”

Guess what? We had the same conversation yesterday, for we did the exact same thing yesterday, as we did the day before that, and the day before that…

In fact, despite minor disruptions to the schedule (teething, bowel movements that could clear an airport, moments of feigned hysteria, to name a few) it’s pretty much always the same around here.

In fact, one could say, it’s like Groundhog Day…

Yes, babies, it’s that time of year again. Time for Mommy to start waxing poetic on the illustrious career of Bill Murray. (As a child of the ’90’s, the ’80’s is my Belle Epoque, when it comes to MTV, movies and music, there was nothing like it.)

Today is Groundhog Day and while to many it means asking in passing, oh, did the groundhog see its shadow? which would determine if we’re going to have six more weeks of winter or not (are guys you getting this?! This is real!), to those who know–that is, those familiar with the 1993 Bill Murray movie “Groundhog Day”–it means repeating the same day over and over again.

In the movie, each repetitive day he has a chance to make life better.

This morning I was driving back from the gym as I always do on Thursdays, that same 8:30 a.m. class I take whenever Nanny is here. I looked at the clock, it said 9:42. The City skyline was coming into view as it always does at just about the top of the hill before making a left at our corner. I realized, oh my god, I am Groundhog Day. And while I may not be up to carving ice sculptures of your faces from memory yet, or holding a crowd at a party with an impromptu go at the piano (which, please note, of all my favorite movie-scenes ranks among the highest, !), I, too, always have a chance to redo things and make life better. And so do you.

Isn’t that kind of cool?

Love,

Mom

What do you think?

