Monday, April 30, 2012

Dear Babies,

I’m looking out my office window watching a man spray chemicals on the grass in our backyard. He’s really pumping away at this thing that looks like it should say “Acme” and be used by the Road Runner to blow up the Coyote.

“Is this bad?” I say to myself, out loud. I just spent $6.59 on a gallon of organic whole milk and planted a garden from which I envision sniping fresh herbs this summer and throwing them right on the grill, and does this just null and void that?

Why the hell do we use stuff that might be bad for us, anyway? Isn’t it dumb?

I bought you your beloved Cheez-It’s today and on the box it clearly advertises, “Made with real cheese!” As in there was a time when it was made with fake cheese?  Why the hell would we ever make and market and sell fake cheese? What the hell is fake cheese? How did we get here?

One of the many quotes on stickie notes plastering my computer solidifying my look as a crazy cat lady without the cats is this:

Seek out argument and disputation for their own sake; the grave will supply plenty of time for silence. -Christopher Hitchens, author and journalist (1949-2011)

It’s there to remind me to say what I really feel.

You, my babies, speak up. There’s no harm done by asking a question.

Me, on the other hand…

The man just caught me looking at him through the window. He smiled. Waved. I waved back but instead of smiling I could not hide my deep-thought look. I could feel the number eleven furrowed between my brows. “Is this bad? This is bad…” with my hand on my hip.

And yet, and yet…

I go back to eating my falafel pita.

Love,

Mom

2 thoughts on “Monday, April 30, 2012

  1. Bethany says:

    Amy, I love the new look to your blog!! My husband does the landscaping, and I put the nix on anything that gave me the “Is this bad? This is bad,” sensation. Which leaves us with a lawn full of weeds. And 4 boys whose safety I don’t have to fret over when they dig in the back yard. As it should be.

    • amydenby says:

      Before leaving yesterday “the man” said no water until Thursday. This morning it torrentially rained. Maybe there IS justice in the world??

What do you think?

