Thursday May 3, 2012

Dear Babies,

Yesterday in the City I saw a man with a devil tattooed on his shaved head, a $795 t-shirt and, there on Columbus, something that too closely resembled a run-over chicken fetus.

The City, the City! people say (I say), as if it’s the greatest thing. And it is pretty damn great, believe me. But, living in the ‘burbs has provided me the perspective of someone on the outside looking in…

Yesterday I saw a man with a devil tattooed on his shaved head, a $795 t-shirt, and a chicken fetus. 

I overheard a couple walking behind me in a serious discussion about wheter or not they should be “pushing latin” in their daughter Sarah. Sarah is probably five.

The Park, the park! people say (I say), as if Central Park is just about the greatest thing. And it is, pretty damn great. Dear little Sarah probably has the best time there.

What Sarah doesn’t realize is that last night three homeless men and twelve rats used her amazing playground as a toilet.

We who see, says the outsider, rubbing his eyes, looking in.

Keep your eyes open, babies. As I say to you all the time pointing a little too excitedly at objects, a bird, the moon, a stop sign, Look, LOOK!

Look.

That’s all.

Love,

Mom

What do you think?

