July 9, 2012

Dear Babies,

Your dad met Rob Thomas at a party once and said to him, “Hey man, I really like your song ‘Closing Time’.” It was a nice thing to say, except Rob Thomas doesn’t sing “Closing Time.” Semisonic does.

I think of this today on this ordinary Monday as I am getting ready to go to the dentist. My appointment isn’t until 4:30, but it’s 2:06 and I am taking a 3:10 train. I have two people coming to watch you, because please note, my angels, our end of the day routine is no small feat (I think dinner and bath alone, the chasing of your slippery bodies to get on pajamas, could be a mental stamina test for the US marines). All of this, for the dentist? There’s one right here on main street. Another by the school. Another by the train. But no…

I wanted to keep all of my doctor’s from the City.

I thought it would be good to go into the ol’ neighborhood to force dinner dates with your dad or nights out with the girls. “Hey, while I’m here!” Like everyone would be so happy to drop everything they’re doing and see me, of course!

Tonight your dad is working late.

I didn’t contact any of the girls.

I’m going to the dentist, and probably coming right home.

I don’t want to futz around in the City.

I don’t want to go shopping.

The only thing I am looking forward to is alone time on the train. I’m reading Anna Quindlen’s latest, “Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake.” Wouldn’t you know it, it’s all about change…

I’m okay with change, as long as it’s not–horrors, a surprise! (*Ask your dad about my surprise 25th birthday.)

I’m terrible with endings.

Point proven today, unable to let go of my dentist (ooh, but he’s so good! He’s right on the Park and he has those massage chairs!)…

Which brings me to:

“Closing Time…Every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end.”

Closing time can come abruptly. 2:00 a.m. at the bar. The lights come on and the party is over, that’s it.

Others happen more slowly, but eventually, they come. One day on a Monday you realize, too, that’s it.

Love,

Mom

 

2 thoughts on “July 9, 2012

  1. Bethany Meyer says:

    I love Rob Thomas…almost as much as I love your husband’s comment to him! But, hey, it’s good to give a rock star a little dose of humility every now and again. And, I too am reading Anna Quindlen’s book. I’ve got a date with it this weekend during my one weekend of the year off from parenting…girls’ weekend at the shore, baby. Closing time at a bar is when I met my husband. And my life changed forever. Closing times and changes will always be inextricably woven into the fabric of my life.

    I look forward to every one of your letters to your sweet babies. Yes, I know I sound like a stalker. Just a fellow Mom and writer, who appreciates your voice.

    • amydenby says:

      To hear that I affected one person, just one person, means that I did it, so thank you. Everything about your reply reconfirms how much I like you (hi, I’m in seventh grade). I, too, am off to a girl’s weekend and the beach soon, and only hope I can make to at least closing time…And for the record, I love stalkers. (So determined.)

What do you think?

