Tuesday, October 9, 2012

Dear Babies,

You will always look like crap when you run into someone you know.

Now, what to do with this gem of information?

Do you resort to always looking like crap then? Say, eh, why bother getting dressed?

Or do you never leave the house without make-up on and at least a pair of jeans? (I’ve decided I am the opposite of a doomsday prepper. I am a fancy day prepper. If I ever get invited to a slew of parties–’80’s dance or not–and big nights out I will be ready with a closet full of dresses and shoes. Till then, its battle gear, aka gym clothes, for me. Today I am wearing my black yoga pants with the purple stripe.)

I ran into not one, not two, but three people I haven’t seen in ages as I ran around town yesterday basically in my pajamas. My last shower was over the 24-hr mark. You guys were dresses as ragamuffins, too, in your “I will throw a fit if I don’t wear this!” mode, yanking your own clothes off of hangers, and we were all splattered with orange juice.

“Figures!” I said…as we say about seeing someone when we just ran out to the grocery store, for a quick errand, are on our way out of the gym with a sweat mustache. “I never thought I would see anyone!”

Yet, look at it the other way, when you see people in such situations, catching them off guard…

When I run into someone I haven’t seen in a while, I never notice what she looks like or what she’s wearing. I never do one of those inhales through teeth, “eesh, wow, yeah, she really let herself go” as two toddlers are pulling on her legs and there’s an unidentified food object smeared by her collar-bone. Hair in a ponytail, so what.

You don’t notice, you don’t care…

Yet, there we are checking our teeth in the rearview mirror.–Dammit!–We care.

So silly, us humans.

Love,

Mom

2 thoughts on “Tuesday, October 9, 2012

  1. Heather (McCaffrey) Di Carlo says:

    Amy you are beautiful as always! Even though I do not have kids yet, I feel the same way!
    I love reading your blog! You are so talented! Cheers! xoxo Heather

    • amydenby says:

      Thank you so much, Heather. This is a very kind note, yet my favorite part is that it ends with “Cheers!” Love it, thank you xx Amy

What do you think?

