Friday January 4, 2013: The Antidote to Problems Large and Small

Dear Babies,

For a short week, it has felt very long.

I accidentally deleted your two favorite movies on our DVR (how did this happen? Am I distracted? What?).

The house looks like the North Pole is moving, there are half-packed boxes of Christmas stuff everywhere.

This never happens–I am usually on it!–but it seems as if we’ve run out of clean clothes and groceries at the same time. I can only describe my look at the moment as park ranger bohemian.

I just couldn’t snap you into your car seat this morning, Baby Boy. It’s been a little tougher now that we leave the house in puffer jackets that could double as sumo wrestler costumes, but this was different.

“What the hell!” under my breath struggling to close your snaps.

(Lucky for you, this gave you more time to make ridiculous requests. “DUCK!” “No, you Donald doesn’t need to come to the store with us right now.” “ELMO!”  “He’s inside, it’s too cold.” “ELMO!” “Elmo’s staying inside, it’s too cold for him.” “ELMO!” {More grunting under my breath, still struggling. Why is this hard? What. The. Hell??} “Elmo doesn’t like the cold, it’s not good for his fur.” “JUICE!”)

It wasn’t until a solid hour later when we returned home and I lifted you out that I saw the reason why it had indeed been so hard to make you fit: Maybe because there was a giant truck on your seat. Yes, you’d been sitting on a giant truck, not a matchbox car, not a little hot wheel, but what can only be described as a monster orange vehicle, which sharp edges and clunky parts, about the size of a brick. Yet, you never complained…

Yes, aside from Grumpah’s scare, it’s been one of those weeks, and all I can say is thank you.

Thank you for making me laugh.

For keeping things in perspective.

For reminding me that it’s possible to live in a world where the biggest problem is that you want more cake.

(“CAKE!”)

Thank you for running over to the sink sometimes when I have my back to you, busy with something I act like I must do, like if I don’t the world will end, washing dishes or something, and you grab my finger and pull me over to the couch and make me sit down next down to you.

Thank you for having those little behinds that never get old to me. I just crack up when you run wild, naked after bath time, every single time…

Thank you.

Thank you…

I, PRA [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html), CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/) or CC-BY-2.5 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.5)], via Wikimedia Commons

Love,

Mom

 

4 thoughts on “Friday January 4, 2013: The Antidote to Problems Large and Small

  1. Janine Huldie says:

    I am so happy you followed me on Twitter and totally following you back. I love the concept of blogging in the form of letters to your kids. I could very much relate to the way you described after Christmas in your house with the toys. And heaven help me if I ever deleted my kids favorite episode of Mickey, lol!!

    • amydenby says:

      Thanks, Janine! You popped up on twitter and to be honest, I saw Massapequa and thought I gotta support a fellow Long Island girl 😉 I love your “follow the sentence Friday,” funny stuff! I will be combing Long Island this weekend in search of Lady and the Tramp and Alice and Wonderland; I cannot fail, I cannot return home and start a new week without them…

  2. Anne Schenendorf says:

    Amy I am inspired. This made me laugh- hysterically. I can also relate. Wed Jan 3 was the three year anniversary of our first baby Gerard’s birthday. This day has always stopped my heart a little but I told myself this year was going to be different. It would be easy. I would be relaxed. Instead Seany scratched his eye and I raced him to the dr. Up to my eyeballs in mother’s guilt, I had Grandma take Jack to school. To make up for the chaos I too seved cake. What are the chances? It must be a 2 year old thing because across town there were also cries for cake! Also, meer(read more) cake. On that night you do look at your babies with utter gratitude. Their joy is contagious even on the craziest. Day. Was so great!!! Loved reading it!!! 🙂

    • amydenby says:

      Oh Anne I’m so sorry, but it makes me so happy to think of Jack & Sean and their ice cream-smudged faces, and those familiar cries of “meer.” Yes, thank goodness for kids, and cake. If there weren’t already 1700 yogurt/ice cream/bakery places around town I’d say we should open a store 😉

What do you think?

