Wednesday, January 30, 2013: Sasquatch Crossing

Dear Babies,

Wasn’t I just peeing and drinking water two minutes ago? Actually, I was just peeing and drinking water two minutes ago–for what could have been the first time all day.

It’s impossible it’s 9:15 p.m.

No.

It’s must be 9:15 a.m.

We were just at music class.

I was just in Costco, over-thinking the purchase of a six-pack of dental floss. Do we need this much dental floss? No. (Put it back on shelf.) But yes, we use dental floss, eventually we’ll run out. I should buy this. (Take back off.) But six? Don’t we get it free from the dentist? (On.) No, we don’t it get it. We get toothbrushes and mini toothpastes. (Off.) This is a lot. (On.) No, we need to floss our teeth. We should floss more. If I buy it, we will floss. (Six pack is purchased and stored in the upstairs hall closet in a ziplock bag with the other six-pack I over-thought and bought last time. F*ck. I’m a hoarder.)

I just ran into Starbucks, and I mean ran like a marathoner crossing the finish line gasping for not water but a grande dark roast.

We were just at Yo Gabba Gabba Live. We were just dancing to Biz Markie. I was just bouncing you on my hip, Baby Boy, telling you Biz Markie was my JAM.

I just unpacked the car.

I just finished the laundry I started yesterday morning (I had to rewash those towels left in the washer because they smelled, dammit).

I just showered.

I just drank water.

I just peed.

I think that was the first time I sat down, not counting driving, all day.

And so it goes, some days are long and you are in it; you are entrenched and your grip on the day is tight.

Others, there you go, zooming by flailing your arms like a Sasquatch going down hill on roller skates. Aaargh…

By Ashish S. Hareet

Love,

Mom

 

 

5 thoughts on “Wednesday, January 30, 2013: Sasquatch Crossing

  1. Leanne - The Mommy Radar says:

    I just stumbled upon your blog and this post made me laugh – especially the part about having to re-wash laundry that you had forgotten in the washer for a day. This happens to me ALL the time. Note to self: GO PUT CLOTHES IN DRYER BEFORE I FORGET . . . right after I read more on your funny blog!
    (Don’t take offense to my caps, That’s just how I roll).

    • amydenby says:

      THANK YOU SO MUCH, MOMMY RADAR (I like a good all caps here and there, too). Thank you for reading, I’m so happy you found me! Though sorry to disrupt the laundry cycle… x Amy

  2. Anne Schenendorf says:

    Amy, all I can is I can so relate to your posts. I realized whrn organizing our hall closet we had around 15 oil of olay body washes. That wouldn’t have been so bad if I hadn’t just bought a bunch more thinking we were almost out. Not so much. I have recently too noticed I can barely pee without someone having a melt down that I chose leave for such a silly endeavor instead of picking up a dropped crayon ect. The other senario I’ve been noticing is I go to pee and come back to someone on the diningroon table, while the other tosses oranges from a bowl yelling “bounce!” Is it me or did this stage suddenly get much tougher?

    • amydenby says:

      Up to a few weeks ago I was saying, “Oh, 18 mths was definitely the hardest! Things will get easier from here!” And then they turned two. And now my house went from being a circus to a circus on fire where clothing is optional. Ah well, we keep hanging in there! And that oil of olay body wash is great, good for you for having 15 bottles of it 🙂

      • Anne Schenendorf says:

        Amy, you crack me up. This age is craaazy. As a teacher, I used to think I could tame the roudiest bunch(apparently I was so wrong). I used to think two was so cute(still do- but I just wish my dr would have warned me at their 2 yr apt- buck up chickie, you’re toast). I just didn’t expect them to be SO opinionated and stubborn. Man. I agree. I thought it was getting easier too. Did I ever tell you I read a quote that said babies are dimpled curly haired lunatics? At the time I read it and laughed while thinking that it was a little harsh. Now I consider that statement wise. Very wise, lol…

What do you think?

