Thursday, July 11, 2013: Yolo.

Dear Babies,

Forget me. Forget Nana. You guys are obsessed with your teenage cousins. Why is it that kids are fascinated by older kids?

…Leaving the pool yesterday we took a walk down by the water. The burst of sunshine we’d soaked in during a break in the clouds was waning as more were rolling in. It looks like the heavens, we’d said. The breeze was picking up. Was that rain? Hurry up, I cried motioning you to follow. Hurry, hurry! Even the geese quickened, sensing the change.

On the sprint to the parking lot I spotted a woman calmly sitting on a bench nearby.

She was older. Alone. Just sitting and looking out at the water. Oh, I thought with envy, how nice… (There is something very peaceful about watching boats drift by.)

…”Do you know what I have to say about that?” your older cousin said yesterday at lunch, I can’t remember what in regards to, because today is just not a sharp day, “YOLO!”

Yellow? Did she just say yellow? Or Rolo, isn’t that a candy? Caramel? Kinda good?

Finally, I had to succumb to my age and ask, what does that mean?

You Only Live Once.

By Benson Kua

Great advice for people of all ages, don’t you think?

Love,

Mom

PS: With these extra hands around, I’m calling in sick tomorrow. I’m getting crazy. I’m going to shower AND pee with the door closed. Be back Monday.

One thought on “Thursday, July 11, 2013: Yolo.

What do you think?

