Thursday, August 29, 2013: Something Different.

Dear Babies,

Something different, I mustered, my legs cramping from holding the crouch to your eye level too long.

What the heck were we going to do today?, I thought on this overcast Thursday. It’s been a great summer, but it’s time for it to end. Bring on the cool weather. The no more battles to shellack ourselves in sunscreen. (And, do I dare say in print, I’m so excited for Thanksgiving, and Christmas. Okay, I’ll stop.)

Daddy came home last night, yaaaay! And then this morning picked up again to head to the office, waaaah….

And wah.

And wah.

And wah.

And I said, wah, too, and I meant it. For what the heck were we going to do?

“Something different,” I decided. “Come on…”

We dressed quickly and I threw us in the stroller. We were out the door by 8:25 a.m. I didn’t even have my coffee. See? The sacrifices I make.

On the walk to town it started to rain. “A little water never hurt anyone,” I called up to you guys. “Feels cool, right?”

When we got to our usual bakery it was closed for electrical repairs. I turned the double-wide around in a three hundred point turn, announcing enthusiastically, “Okay, guys, we’re going…someplace else!”

At the next bakery, the tables outside were empty (see earlier, raining). Still, there were umbrellas–and it’s just water, right?–and my suggestion to eat outside was met with excited cheers.

Yaaaay!

As was my suggestion to get muffins.

Two blueberry muffins, please. Look, Mommy never eats a muffin for breakfast, right?!

We watched men in delivery trucks go back and forth, free entertainment. And, this place puts coffee ice cubes in the iced coffee, so the drink actually gets stronger as it gets watered down. That’s what we call a win, win.

With a dingling of bells, we turned and saw a woman emerge from the hair salon next door, outside to take (which I’ll presume would be one of many) cigarette breaks through the day. “Come inside,” she beckoned, “I’ll paint her nails with sparkles for free!”

I liked this lady, as sometimes when you meet people you either instantly like them or you don’t–not prejudice, but feelings and vibes, you’ll see.

Inside, I liked the place, too.

It was full of little old ladies getting their hair done in little tight curlers. On old school beauty salon. 

Grease is the word

I used to get my hair cut at the Lemon Tree. Now I go to a place that directs me to a locker room, because from the looks of my gym clothes I’m someone who needs to change my clothes before a haircut, right, and makes me feel stupid for not knowing where to “check in.”

We met everyone in the place.

Josie.

Lynn.

Sierra gave you guys lollipops.

At 9:15 in the morning?

But today was something different, so I said sure. 

“Mommy, this is delicious,” you said, Baby Boy.

“Mommy, look at my nails,” Baby Girl, you beamed.

After, we went to the park. We had races and found a worm.

On the walk home, everybody was quiet.

“You guys all right up there?” I called up. Followed by birds. Bugs. The hum of a lawnmower.

“Something different,” you said Baby Boy.

I dipped over and saw you were smiling ear to ear.

“You got it, Buddy,” I said.

And I pushed us on…

Sometimes a change in routine does everybody good.

That said, Happy Labor Day. Be back Tuesday.

Love,

Mom

4 thoughts on “Thursday, August 29, 2013: Something Different.

  1. Anne says:

    Soooooo sweet!!!!! Love!!!! I was already misty reading this and then Baby Boy saying something different and smiling ear to ear melted my heart. So nice to hear of someone going through their beloved Daddy withdrawal…

What do you think?

