Monday, October 7, 2013: Sand Through the Hourglass.

Dear Babies,

Like sands through the hourglass…so are the days of our lives. 

Thanks to the two new miniature hourglass “teeth brushing timers” suction-cupped to our sink, one pink, one blue, of course, of course, I get to say this out loud on a daily basis, twice.

Keep brushing until the color gets all the way to the bottom! I coach. Keep brushing! Keeeep brushing!

Man, is that a long two minutes.

Two minutes? Really? Is THAT how long you’re supposed to brush your teeth for? Add that to the list of if-I-knew-then-what-I-knew-now’s…maybe I wouldn’t have a mouth peppered with giant silver fillings from 1985? (among other things).

Keep brushing.

Keeeeep brushing…

Maybe add some water to it…

Spit. Spit. Spit. Spit it out. Oh, whatever. 

Wow, still time on that thing huh? Keep brushing…

These are the days of our lives.

…It’s Monday morning and all I want to do is do the laundry. I need to do laundry, Denby, the towels smell, I bemoaned to your father last night about my predicament with LG, waiting for them to approve an extended warranty so they can send me a new part for the damned broken dryer. “Just order it,” he said, bringing my attention to this little thing called Amazon on his iPad. “Order it myself? And surrender??” It’s their problem, Denby, they’re the ones who should fix it! If I made a clothes dryer, I would, oh yeah, make one that didn’t SUCK and rip clothes. . . 

Click. Click. Click.

I just got my confirmation number from Amazon.

Ten new lint filters are on the way.

These are the days of our lives.

…You don’t know soap operas. I don’t watch them. And slowly but surely daytime television is getting eaten by up talk shows. Growing up, channel seven soaps was all that was on in our house all day long. “All My Children.” “One Life to Live.” Aunt Krissy and I used to play General Hospital, pretend we were Anna and Robert Scorpio, the beautiful motorcycle-riding spies. She was Anna, I, the younger minion, was Robert, naturally.

I have such vivid memories of my mother cleaning the house blasting eight track tapes of Air Supply…

Now, Cecilia cleans, and you guys love her. You thank her. You give high fives to her and “the girls.”

“I’m going to cook like Mommy!” you say, and you open up your toy microwave.

(In my defense I cook earlier and reheat at dinnertime, one of many behind the scenes things you guys do not see, and may not see for years to come.)

Still, these are the days of our lives.

These days of tiny little battles lost and won. (To which you both gloat: Winning!)

…We had a new type of cole slaw at a bbq this weekend. Cilantro and jalapeño. And it was awesome.

“This our life!” I joked to someone falling victim to the cross of you-must-always-be-funny, rib, rib, joke, “we’re so excited about cole slaw!”

But it is our life.

These are our days. Our tiny miniature hourglasses flowing that seem so small, full of daily minutia that all get filed under one word: Blur.

But then there’s today. This gray Monday. Is it ever going to rain? The only thing on our agenda is to go play in the basement. I’m so excited I have leftover spaghetti so I don’t have to cook. And for each and every teeny tiny grain of sand that falls, I recall another word: Grateful.

days of our lives

Love,

Mom

4 thoughts on “Monday, October 7, 2013: Sand Through the Hourglass.

  1. reinventionofmama says:

    Grateful is the best feeling! This morning we made it out of the house WITHOUT ANY DRAMA! Hell, if I were the type to yodel, I would have busted one out driving the happy girls to a school I feel confident about, watching the sunlit landscape of my hometown fly by. What a good day.

  2. Winding road says:

    Awesome! Yes, the mundane can be so satisfying. We also have the 2 min teeth brushing hourglass. That is a loong time to brush! I so remember the days of soaps and Air Supply too…”making love out of nothing at all”…sometimes that’s what my blog is 🙂 ….And the cole slaw sounds delicious.

    • amydenby says:

      Thank you for reminding me how awesome that song is 🙂 (but your blog, my dear, is definitely not nothing!) Two minutes IS a long time to brush teeth, right?!

What do you think?

